Summer Reading List

This has been an incredibly busy semester for me. In addition to my full time teaching load of Philosophy, Theology, Logic, & Rhetoric, I took a course on Mathematical & Scientific Reasoning (affectionately called the “Numbers Class”), which stretched me as much as any class I’ve ever taken. I also had the amazing opportunity to play Prospero in Topeka Civic Theatre & Academy’s production of The Tempest. Topeka has one of the strongest theatre communities I’ve ever seen and I am blessed beyond words to be able to be a part of these productions (back in 2012 I played Claudius in the production of Hamlet). With all this going on I wasn’t able to keep my blog updated, I was only able to write one essay that I’m working on adapting for a blog post here. It was on the value of studying Euclid.

In the meantime, I’ve figured out my summer reading list, which should give me ample opportunities for reflection and writing over the summer.

First up, I’m taking a course on Christian Humanism, which includes the following books:

  • J.I. Packer & Thomas Howard, Christianity: The True Humanism
  • R. William Franklin, et al., The Case for Christian Humanism
  • Joseph Shaw, et al., Readings in Christian Humanism
  • Craig W. Kallendorf, Humanist Educational Treatises
  • Jens Zimmermann, Incarnational Humanism
  • Walker Percy, Lost in the Cosmos: The Last Self-Help Book

Secondly, I doing an independent tutorial on the question “What is Human Nature,” which includes the following selections:

  • Aristotle, Nicomachean Ethics, Books I, VI, & X
  • Athanasius, On the Incarnation
  • Augustine, On the Trinity, Books IX-XIV
  • Thomas Aquinas, Summa Theologica, Prima pars, Questions 75-89
  • John Calvin, Institutes of the Christian Religion, Book II, Chapters 1-4
  • Reinhold Niebuhr, The Nature and Destiny of Man
  • René Girard, I See Satan Fall Like Lightning

In between these readings, or more likely when I’ve finished these around mid-July, I’ll relax with some fiction:

  • Ray Bradbury, Dandelion Wine (the first book of the summer—a new tradition)
  • Cormac McCarthy, The Road
  • Neil Gaiman, American Gods
  • Wendell Berry, Jayber Crow
  • Annie Dillard, Pilgrim at Tinker Creek
  • Dostoevsky, The Double

For now, I’m just celebrating the end of the school year. Papers & exams are graded, report cards are updated, and now to Commencement Ceremonies to say goodbye to the Seniors.

One comment on “Summer Reading List

  1. Bill Isley says:

    Great to have you back! By the way, I think McCarthy’s The Road is a fascinating and moving novel. I’ll be interested to read your reflections on it.

Leave a Reply

