Sex, Flesh, and Love

Do I have your attention? Consider this passage that I just ran across:

You see nothing apart from a woman’s body. It was not like that in our day. The more passionately I was in love, the less physical she became for me. Today you see legs, and ankles, and things like that, you undress the woman you love, for me, though…the object of my love was always clad in bronze. Far from undressing those we love, we strove, like the good son of Noah, to cover up their nakedness. But you wouldn’t understand any of that.

Leo Tolstoy, “After the Ball”

Leave a Reply

