Thank You, Piers Morgan

I’m always looking for fresh illustrations of logical fallacies for my Logic classes.  I sometimes get the impression from students that the fallacies we talk about are so obvious that they only occur in logic books.  “How could anyone be so foolish as to argue this way?”  So, in order to show them that people make fallacious arguments all the time, I try and show them contemporary examples of fallacies at work. (The so-called “Internet Atheists” have furnished me with a nice long list; see here).  But now, thanks to Piers Morgan, I have a wonderful example of Argumentum Ad Hominem.  I’ll now be showing this clip to my Logic classes for the next few years until a better example comes along:

 

Leave a Reply

